Pokémon 25th Anniversary Timed Auction

Pokémon 25th anniversary auction with PSA Gem Mint 10 1st edition cards, unopened Base Set Booster Box and Booster Packs

ANNOUNCING an awesome opportunity to bid for some of the finest collectable Pokémon trading cards in the world!

To celebrate the 25th anniversary of Pokémon on February 27, Richard Winterton Auctioneers is proud to present an international timed auction live from 9am GMT on Wednesday, February 24 until 10am GMT on Monday, March 8.

The sale consists of 42 lots including:

  • An extensive collection of around 1,000 assorted Pokémon cards from various sets, the majority PSA graded Gem Mint 10 1st editions
  • 70 sealed Team Rockets booster long packs each containing 11 cards, all complete, unopened and in very good condition
  • An unopened Base Set Booster Box from Wizards Of The Coast, 1999/2000, in its original WOTC cellophane marked as made in USA.

Check out the online catalogue and bid live from February 24.

A 1st edition Pokémon Team Rocket Dark Charizard Holo, PSA Gem Mint 10
A 1st edition Pokémon Team Rocket Dark Charizard Holo, PSA Gem Mint 10, estimated to fetch between £3,000 and £5,000.

From beginnings as a simple trading card game, the past few decades has seen Pokémon evolve into a serious collector’s business.

The rare and highly sought-after PSA Gem Mint 10 grade certifies that the card is in perfect condition.

This sale features around 740 cards so graded, including 1st editions and promo cards, securely sealed in PSA plastic cases with cellophane outer sleeves, plus several hundred others in very good condition and encased in plastic sleeves and folders.

A 1st edition Pokémon Team Rocket Dark Dragonite Holo, PSA Gem Mint 10
A 1st edition Team Rocket Dark Dragonite Holo, PSA Gem Mint 10, estimated to make £2,000-£3,000.

The PSA Gem Mint 10 graded cards include:

  • 1st edition Team Rocket Dark Charizard Holo, estimated to fetch between £3,000 and £5,000
  • 1st edition Fossil Dragonite Holo, est. £3,000-£5,000
  • 1st edition Team Rocket Dark Dragonite Holo, est. £2,000-£3,000
  • 1st edition Fossil Articuno Holo, est. £1,800-£2,000

The timed auction will be managed from The Lichfield Auction Centre at Fradley Park, Staffordshire, UK.

The sale starts to close from 10am GMT on March 8 – that will make it 7pm in Japan, 6pm in Hong Kong and China, 3.30pm in India, 5am in New York and Washington, 4am in Chicago, 3am in Denver, 2am in San Francisco and midnight in Hawaii.

A 1st edition Pokémon Fossil Dragonite Holo, PSA Gem Mint 10
A 1st edition Pokémon Fossil Dragonite Holo, PSA Gem Mint 10, estimated to sell for £3,000-£5,000.

“We have organised a timed sale rather than our more usual live auctions so as to enable bidders from all over the world to get in on the action,” said auctioneer Richard Winterton.

“We’ve also carefully timed the closing of the sale to ensure it falls on the same date and at as convivial a time as possible for bidders!

“Pokémon is quite simply a global sensation and the ultimate ‘new’ collectable.

“As the sale ties in with the 25th anniversary we expect huge interest across the globe, especially collectors in Japan, China and the USA.”

He added: “This is the hottest Pokémon ticket in town and we are super excited to be in on the action.”

The family firm of auctioneers has become a go-to place for Pokémon, with recent collections of cards fetching thousands at auction.

In July 2020, a rare complete 1st edition Pokémon base set sold online with Richard Winterton Auctioneers for £25,000.

This latest sale is the company’s biggest yet.

International prices for Pokémon have skyrocketed – a sealed First Edition Booster box recently sold for £298,000. Last November, a PSA graded 10 1st edition Base Set Charizard sold for over $350,100.

And never has condition been so crucial.

A 1st edition Pokémon Fossil Articuno Holo, PSA Gem Mint 10
A 1st edition Pokémon Fossil Articuno Holo, PSA Gem Mint 10, estimated to sell for £1,800-£2,000.

Toy specialist Jon Price said: “The fact that these cards are PSA Gem Mint 10 graded massively increases their value and is particularly important in America.

“Grade 3 is considered very good; 10 is just incredible.”

The timed auction also has a real air of mystery thanks to the presence of 70 sealed Team Rockets booster packs, each containing 11 cards, and an unopened Base Set Booster Box from Wizards Of The Coast, still enclosed in its WOTC branded cellophane.

Pokémon Base Set Booster Box
This Pokémon Base Set Booster Box from Wizards Of The Coast has never been opened and is still enclosed in cellophane branded with the WOTC rectangular logo. This box is the version with the blue-winged Charizard on the side and is marked as being made in the USA.

Jon added: “The Booster Box is sealed in the original wrapping and because it’s unopened no-one knows for sure what’s inside.

“Some people might want to buy it to open it; some people might buy it to just sit on as an investment.

“Certainly, very few of these remain sealed and that gives this particular lot a real element of mystery!”

70 sealed Pokémon Team Rockets booster packs
The auction includes 70 sealed Pokémon Team Rockets booster packs with four different packet artwork designs, each unopened pack containing 11 cards. They are expected to sell for between £15,000 and £18,000.

Richard Winterton Auctioneers is already planning another online-only timed auction focussing on Pokémon to run from May 6 until May 19, with further entries needing to be consigned by April 23.

Mr Winterton added: “Pokémon may be a lot of fun but it’s also a very serious business for collectors who are prepared to hunt all over the world for that special card and will invest thousands and thousands of pounds to secure it.”

For enquiries, telephone 01543 251081 or email office@richardwinterton.co.uk.

Check out the online catalogue and bid live from February 24.

Our latest on Facebook

Newsletter Sign Up

Keep up to date by signing up to recieve our emails.

By signing up I agree to the privacy policy and I understand that I can unsubscribe any time.